Skip to content

2. File Organization

Use this guide after scanning is complete to organize the item folder and page scans.

Workflow Overview

Step Section Purpose
1 Folder Structure Create the item folder and scans folder, then move page scan image files into scans.
2 Create a README File Add README.md to the item folder and record the basic collection, item, and processing details.
3 Page Scan Filenames Confirm the correct item ID pattern and page-number format before renaming scans.
4 Rename Page Scans with FreeCommander Use FreeCommander Multi-Rename to apply the item ID and page counter to scan filenames.
Reference Community Archives Collection Numbers Check collection numbers and related repository links when building item IDs.
Check Before Moving On Confirm the item folder, README, scan order, and filenames are ready before moving files.
5 Move Files to DPLAB Storage Move the organized item folders into the correct DPLAB_STORAGE collection or series folder.

Folder Structure

Each item should have its own top-level folder.

Use this pattern:

call-number_short-title_date/

Examples:

ca-001-001-001_newspaper-title_1973-01-01/
ca-001-001-002_newspaper-title_1973-01-18/

Inside each item folder, create a folder named:

scans

After creating scans, move all page scan image files into that folder.

Example:

ca-001-001-001_newspaper-title_1973-01-01/
+-- scans/
    +-- ca-001-001-001_p001.png
    +-- ca-001-001-001_p002.png
    +-- ca-001-001-001_p003.png

Create a README File

Create a README.md file in each item folder so future staff and employees can quickly identify what the files are for and where they belong.

In FreeCommander:

  1. Open the item folder.
  2. Run:
Favorite Tools > Tools > Create README.md

This copies the README template into the item folder.

Template source:

V:\librarydata\archives_store\dplab_admin\templates\README.md

In the README, record:

  • Collection Name
  • Series Name
  • Item ID
  • Item Title
  • Item Date or Date Range
  • Processed by
  • Processing Date

Example:

README.md example fields for a Community Archives item folder

After the README.md file is created, the item folder should include both scans and README.md.

Item folder containing scans folder and README.md file

Page Scan Filenames

For textual documents, page filenames should include:

  • Community Archives collection number
  • series number
  • subseries number, if applicable
  • any additional sub-subseries numbers, if applicable
  • item number
  • page number

Use this pattern:

item-id_p###.png

Examples:

ca-001-001-001_p001.png
ca-001-001-001_p002.png
ca-001-001-001_p003.png

If the item belongs to a subseries, include that number in the item ID:

ca-001-001-002-001_p001.png
ca-001-001-002-001_p002.png

Ask before guessing

If you are unsure which collection, series, subseries, or item number to use, stop and ask Archives staff.

Rename Page Scans with FreeCommander

Use the FreeCommander Multi-Rename tool to rename page scans quickly.

  1. Open the item folder in FreeCommander.
  2. Open the scans folder.
  3. Sort the scans in page order.
  4. Make sure the first page scan is at the top of the rename list.
  5. Select the scan files.
  6. Press F2 to open Multi-Rename.
  7. Replace the original filename pattern [n] with the item id string + "p[c]" to add a page number counter.
FreeCommander Multi-Rename setup for page scans

Example FreeCommander rename string:

ca-001-001-001_p[c].png

The counter [c] creates the page numbers:

ca-001-001-001_p001.png
ca-001-001-001_p002.png
ca-001-001-001_p003.png

Check the first page

The Bookeye often saves the first page as KIC.png and the second page as KIC_01.png. Make sure KIC.png is at the top of the rename list so it becomes p001.

Community Archives Collection Numbers

Community Archives collection numbers can be checked in VText:

Community Archives Projects in VText

CA Number Collection
CA-001 Lowndes County Historical Society
CA-002 Grady County Historical Society
CA-003 Thomasville History Center Collection
CA-004 Houseal Collection
CA-005 Bennett Collection
CA-006 Valdosta Project Change
CA-007 Turner Center for the Arts
CA-008 Macedonia Community
CA-009 Quitman Brooks County Museum and Cultural Center
CA-010 Brooks County Historical Board
CA-011 Mitchell County Genealogical Society
CA-012 Berrien County Historical Foundation
CA-013 Hahira Historical Society
CA-014 Ray City Community Library Collection
CA-015 River Hill Baptist Church Collection

For series and subseries numbers, check ArchivesSpace Community Archives Repository.

Before Moving On

Before continuing to ABBYY FineReader processing, confirm:

  • each item has its own top-level folder
  • each item folder has a scans directory
  • all page scans are inside scans
  • page scans are in correct order
  • page filenames begin with the correct CA item ID
  • page numbers start at p001
  • README.md has been created and filled out
  • no later workflow files have been added yet

Move Files to DPLAB Storage

After the item folders and page scan filenames are correct, create a top-level collection/series folder in DPLAB_STORAGE:

V:\librarydata\archives_store\dplab_storage

Use this folder naming pattern:

ca-collection-series_collection-name_series-name

Example:

ca-001-001_lowndes-county-historical-society_newspapers

Move the completed item folders from the USB drive into the collection/series folder.

After the copy is successful and the item folders are confirmed in DPLAB_STORAGE, remove the copied files from the USB drive.

Next Step

After the organized files have been moved to DPLAB_STORAGE, the next workflow step is ABBYY FineReader Processing.

Scanning and file organization may be the only steps assigned to a particular student worker. The same student may continue to ABBYY FineReader processing, or another student may pick up the item later using the organized files and README.md.